Am I Basic for Loving Jane Birkin?

STYLE INSPO

 

1600x2133-d-assets-elleuk-com-gallery-28687-1982-02-12-eternally-stylish-moments-from-jane-birkin-getty-10-jpg.jpg

Image via Elle

Ah, Jane. We first met when I couldn’t sleep and happened upon a documentary about you around 3 AM. I was seventeen and a little unsure of myself, and something about you resonated with me instantly. An English girl with big teeth (I, too, am big-toothed, though from New York) who travels to France, dates older men, and acts perhaps more grown up than she really feels–in the documentary, you reflected on how young and wrapped up in a French whirlwind you were. You seemed so genuine, and still so beautiful despite the years that had passed since your “hey-day.”

janebirkin5-1

Image via Marie Claire

Your waif-like figure and effortless fashion sense were, of course, appealing, in addition to the admittedly strange emotional connection I had with you from your interviews. And yes, I wanted bangs just like yours as soon as I saw them. (I actually attempted to cut my own, a few years later in college, with mediocre results.) Since then, I’ve kept a sort of Jane Birkin vision board in the back of my mind when shopping or trying to piece together an outfit in the morning.

janebirkin8-1

Image via Marie Claire

Then I joined Tumblr and started reading fashion blogs. And I realized I was not unique in my Jane obsession. I discovered that loving Jane Birkin was actually — dare I say — basic. I wasn’t the only one who had considered ditching all of my handbags and trading them in for a straw basket, no. In fact, someone was brilliant enough to make a business out of it. I discovered Jeanne Damas on Instagram, and realized that she had much more successfully reincarnated vintage Jane style than I ever could. Reformation sells a “Jane” dress, for Chrissake.

janebirkin14-1

Image via Marie Claire

 

At first, I felt a little crushed. I thought Jane and I had something special. But then I realized, caring about other people liking the same thing as me is so anti-Birkin style. In fact, it’s a good thing that so many others are into this look, because now I can more easily find pieces that fit into that breezy, vacationing on the south of France with Serge aesthetic that I’ve lusted over for years.

1600x2133-d-assets-elleuk-com-gallery-28687-1960-01-01-eternally-stylish-moments-from-jane-birkin-getty-04-jpg

Image via Elle

A world of more women with wispy bangs and carelessly cuffed button-downs tucked into jeans certainly doesn’t hurt anyone, right? Also, I’d give props where props are due to anyone who can rock a popped collar as epically as above ^^. What I’m really getting at is, caring about being basic is basic. Birkin-lovers, keep straw-basketing and fringe-snipping to your heart’s desire – I’m with you.

Leave a Reply

